09 · 27 · 17

XV years, 15 editions: FICM 2016, 14th edition

The fourteenth edition of the Morelia International Film Festival (FICM) took place from the 21st to the 30th of October 2016. For the second time in its history, a film by Chilean director Pablo Larraín inaugurated the festival. Neruda, starring Gael García Bernal and Alfredo Castro, tells the story of the political persecution of the poet Pablo Neruda.

At the opening ceremony, Gael Garcia recalled his childhood in Michoacán and his closeness to the place. “I am proud to be in this city that is the capital of the state where I come from. My family is from Huetamo, Michoacán. Having grown up there gave me the possibility to understand what is happening on earth.”

Actors Aaron Eckhart, with Sully (2016, dir. Clint Eastwood); Casey Affleck, star of Manchester by the Sea (2016, dir. Kenneth Lonergan); Audrey Tautou, who presented L’odyssée (2016, dir. Jérôme Salle); Willem Dafoe, starring in films such as The Hunter (2011, Daniel Nettheim) and Antichrist (2009, dir. Lars von Trier); and Edgar Ramirez, who presented the films Hands of Stone (2016, dir. Jonathan Jakubowicz) and The Girl on the Train (2016, Tate Taylor) were the special guests of this edition, along with director Giada Colagrande.

José María Prado, director of the Spanish Film Library, was honored for his extraordinary work of almost three decades at the head of this institution.

In the fourteenth edition of the FICM, 106 competing works were presented between short films, documentaries and feature films; in addition to more than 100 national and international films, galas and special screenings.

Alejandro Ramírez, Cuauhtémoc Cárdenas Batel and Daniela Michel spoke about the constantpurpose that the festival has had from its beginnings: “Our goal is for those who attend our screenings to be moved by the force of cinema and for them to prolong the experience of those screenings beyond those rooms; to feel moved, joyful or angry, sad or happy, amused, indignant and in love, even, but never indifferent.”

Learn more about the fourteenth edition of FICM here.

María José Cuevas.

Aaron Eckhart.

Jesús Meza, Simone Bucio, Amat Escalante, Ruth Ramos, Edén Villavicencio.

Eva Longoria.

Giada Colagrande, Willem Dafoe.

Alejandro Ramírez Magaña, Daniela Michel, Casey Affleck.

Demián Bichir.

Jean-Christophe Berjon, Audrey Tautou.

Audrey Tautou.

Edgar Ramirez.

Aaron Eckhart.

Cuauhtémoc Cárdenas Batel, Luis Gnecco, Daniela Michel, Gael García Bernal.